Hunger Games undoubtedly has a huge fan base across the globe and the reason is pretty obvious. The book series has ruled the hearts of fantasy and magic lovers for years and when it got adapted into a movie starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, and Liam Hemsworth, the fan base has only extended and there has been a significant amount of increment in people loving this book.

Though there is a conflict over who started the YA Dystopian fiction between Divergent and the Hunger Games it is safe to say that The Hunger Games definitely has a wider fan following. With the launch of two strong female leads to the fore, these books have impressed a lot of readers.

Well, you have read The Hunger Games and watched the movie too. Now what? Well, you can read numerous other books written in the same genre and around the same theme. For readers who are a major fantasy fan, these books work like magic. *pun intended*

Following is the list of books and series that are similar to The Hunger Games. Each one is unique in itself and provides you with totally different storylines. The lovers of These books highly recommend these books for the readers who thoroughly enjoyed the trilogy.

Books like Hunger Games To Read:

Though The book is a trilogy there are many readers out there who don’t want to commit to a series of books and are more interested in standalone novels. For all those readers we have curated the list of standalone books that are similar to The Hunger Games:

1. Lord of the Flies

Author: William Golding

Publishing Year: 1954

Lord of the Flies: books like hunger games

The Noble Prize-winning author, William Golding has presented us with a fascinating story of a group of British boys who are stranded on a mysterious and inhabited island. It is a classic tale of survival surrounding the world of fantasies. The boys did some disastrous attempt to govern themselves.

The Lord of the Flies was written following World War 2. The schoolboys who are stranded on this island tries to investigate mankind’s inherent savagery. The book has a huge fan base and readers can’t help but be impressed with the brilliant writing style of the author William Golding. For the fans of The Hunger Games, this book is a must-read.

2. The Handmaid’s Tale: The Graphic Novel

Author: Margaret Atwood

Publishing Year: 1985

The Handmaid's Tale: The Graphic Novel

The Handmaid’s Tale written by Margaret Atwood is another brilliant example on the list. The book was set in a dystopian time period, just like the Hunger Games. After releasing the book Margaret Atwood became a household name similar to Suzanne Collins after she released the Hunger Games.

The book presents us with a story of a rebellion who lives in a world where women are not allowed to live on their own terms. They are not allowed to hold a job, form friendships, get freedom or do anything that they wish. The world where handmaids are only allowed to wear off red.

You will be introduced with a handmaid in the story who works in the house of a commander and his wife. She is trying to get respect in the community by trying to prove she is fertile. Because only fertile handmaids are valued and for that, she is relying on the commander.

3. 1984

Author: George Orwell

Publishing Year: 1949

1984

The International bestseller, 1984 is a masterpiece written by George Orwell. The critically acclaimed book has been repeatedly banned and challenges because of the bold content. The dystopian novel marks the ending of the author’s career and was the last book that he ever has written.

The book tells you the story of Winston Smith. The man who is a low ranking member of the party is irritated and frustrated by the presence of their omnipresent ruler, ‘Big Brother’. The ruler controls every aspect of the lives of the people who are a part of the party.

The book was banned for being pro-communist in various parts of America but still to date it is considered as one of the most important books ever written.

4. Feed

Author: Matthew Tobin Anderson

Publishing Year: 2002

Feed

Feed is a young adult fiction novel by Matthew Tobin Anderson set in the dystopian era. The plot of the story deals with various issues such as environmental decay, data mining, consumerism, information technology, corporate power, etc.

The brilliant book presents you with a unique story of the ‘feed”. The award-winning story deals with the strange thoughts and emotions of people who are controlled by the ‘feed’. The feed is a special kind of chip or implant placed in people’s brains that lets them access the internet through their minds.

Series/Trilogy like The Hunger Games:

The Hunger Games Trilogy has kept us hooked till its last release and since it was such a huge success, there has been a significant amount of increase in the series or trilogy of books revolving around the same era or theme. Many writers have showcased their talents and provided us with some brilliant series. So if you are looking for some book series like This then the below list is for you:

1. Divergent

Author Name: Veronica Roth

Publishing Year: 2011-2013

Divergent

Divergent is the most obvious choice on the list. It is a trilogy of young adult science fiction adventure novel set in the Utopian and dystopian era. The Hunger Games trilogy and The Divergent trilogy have arguably founded the YA dystopian fiction. Both the book series are similar to each other in various aspects.

The series portrays a strong female character named Tris who is faced with a choice to choose between her own family and her true self. Anything she decides is going to be a life-altering choice for her. Moving forward she learns a lot about herself and with each step it gets more dangerous and intense.

The Divergent Trilogy is so gripping and thrilling that it would make it impossible for you to put the book down without completing it. The trilogy is also adapted into a movie that is equally interesting.

The whole series consists of the following books:

  1. Divergent
  2. Insurgent
  3. Allegiant
  4. Four: A Divergent Collection
  5. We Can Be Mended

2. Matched

Author: Ally Condie

Publishing Year: 2010

Matched

Matched is actually based on a unique idea where all the characters in the book are a part of this world where people function according to the government. So much that they eat what the government dictates, workout according to them and even the government chooses their partner for them.

The protagonist in the series is a brave woman named Cassie. Cassie accidentally gets matched with two compatible mates decided by the government. The book takes some various turns of events and gets to a very unexpected point.

Cassie finds herself in love soon after but along with that she also finds some very shocking truth about the government and their dirty secrets.

The whole series consists of the following books:

  1. Matched
  2. Crossed
  3. Reached

3. Graceling

Author: Kristin Cashore

Publishing Year: 2008

Graceling

Graceling is a trilogy followed by two other books named ‘fire’ and ‘bitterblue’. The young adult fantasy book is the debut novel of Kristin Cashore. The book features Katsa who is a strong and courageous warrior. The life of Katsa is awaiting a major change that will turn everything upside down.

As you move forward in the story, it will get more and more interesting providing you with a more intense ending. After reading the book you will know what the whole hype is all about.

The books are simply unputdownable and you will be eager to know what happens next. Graceling trilogy is also adapted in the movie released in the year 2014.

The whole series consists of the following books:

  1. Graceling
  2. Fire
  3. Bitterblue

4. The Maze Runner

Author: James Dashner

Publishing Year: 2009

The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner is the first book of the trilogy followed by four other books. The theatre adaption of the book of the same name was released in cinemas in the year 2014 starring Dylan O’Brien.

The book follows the life of some boys are unaware of anything that has happened in their life in the past and has no memory of their previous lives. Now these boys one by one are sent to a mysterious place called Glade. They will have to stay at this place which is surrounded by a deadly maze.

The boys are now living in a home which is equivalent to a time bomb and they are finding their way out of this. The whole story is about them trying to escape from this horrible situation.

The whole series consist of the following books:

  1. The Maze Runner
  2. The Scorch Trials
  3. The Death Cure
  4. The Kill Order
  5. The Fever Code

5. The City of Ember

Author: Jeanne Du Prau

Publishing Year: 2003

The City of Ember

The City of Ember is a post-apocalyptic city set in the dystopian era. It is a primary-to-middle class science fiction novel that tells you the tale of a city named Ember. The city is threatened by infrastructure and corruption. The underground city was created for the preservation of the human species in a time of apocalyptic time like the atomic war.

It is the last refuge of the human race but the city of Ember is in danger. All the resources are running out and the threat of corruption is also there. The book gives you the lesson of humanity. It is about two children named Lina and Doon who tell all the other people of the city that there is life on earth.

The whole series consists of the following books:

  1. The City of Ember
  2. The People of Sparks
  3. The Prophet of Yonwood
  4. The Diamond of Darkhold

6. Legend

Author: Marie Lu

Publishing Year: 2011

Legend

Another young-adult fiction dystopian novel on the list that will work just like The Hunger Games for you. Written by Marie Lu, Legend is the first book of the series followed by Prodigy, Champion, and Rebel: A Legend Novel. As per the author, she was inspired by the movie called Les Miserable and tried to bring that to teenagers.

The story of the book follows the life of a young prodigy named June. June is desperately looking for a criminal, the criminal who killed her brother and seeking revenge. Later on, she discovers that truth is far more complicated than she thinks and it is not all black and white.

The whole series consist of the following books:

  1. Legend
  2. Prodigy
  3. Champion
  4. Rebel: A Legend Novel

7. The Lunar Chronicles

Author: Marissa Meyer

Publishing Year: 2012-2015

The Lunar Chronicles

The Lunar Chronicles written by Marissa Meyer consist of five books Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Fairest: Levana’s Story, and Winter, the epic conclusion. The first book of the series is loosely based on the classic fairytale Cinderella. Many elements of the story are taken from that book.

The book is about a plague that has taken over the whole earth. The deadly plague is all set to affect the human and claim the lives of people but there is Cyborg. The future depends on her and the world awaits how she is going to save all.

But Cyborg is fighting a battle of herself. She finds herself in a kind of situation where she can not resist a Prince. Though she knows that is completely forbidden but her attraction towards the Prince is only growing stronger.

The whole series consist of the following books:

  1. Cinder
  2. Scarlet
  3. Cress
  4. Fairest: Levana’s Story
  5. Winter

8. The Mortal Instruments

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publishing Year: 2007-2014

The Mortal Instruments

The Mortal Instruments written by Cassandra Clare is a young adult fiction fantasy novel consisting of six books. The books are City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and the City of Heavenly Fire. Though it is a kind of lengthy series but is totally worth reading.

The book is about a girl named Clay Fray. The girl is in search of her missing mother but slowly she realizes that she is a possessor of some supernatural power that she inherited from her mother. Her mother is abducted by demons and the whole story takes her to an alternate world.

The whole series consists of the following books:

  1. City of Bones
  2. City of Ashes
  3. City of Glass
  4. City of Fallen Angels
  5. City of Lost Souls
  6. City of Heavenly Fire.

If this list is not sufficient for you, you can also read the best fantasy books like twilight.

Conclusion

The Hunger Games was definitely a great series but if you loved reading that book then there is a high chance you are also going to fall in love with the books and series mentioned above. The above list of books and series like The Hunger Games is curated after getting the reading recommendations by the people who thoroughly enjoyed the Hunger Games.

The world of fantasy and fiction is something else, they let our imaginations go wild and the sky is the limit. With the huge fan following of the genre, it has only flourished over the years resulting in providing us with great books and series. The ones that we have mentioned are brilliant examples of it.

If you know or have read any other great books like The Hunger Games then please let us know about it in the comment section below. Also if you have any queries or suggestions, you can also give it to us by commenting below.