Game of Thrones books has been a fan favorite due to the content they carry in them. But the popularity has been increased quite a lot since the TV series was released. The representation of some of the most iconic moments from the book took place in the series and the way these scenes were depicted was marvelous.

The content of these books was spicy and the way the plot twists were introduced in the TV series, it got even better. The way its popularity spiked after the introduction of the TV show was shocking. It was really fun to see brilliant scenes like the red wedding and the battle of bastards. Although the books still cannot be compared to the TV show because the book has a lot it can’t have.

I am a GOT fan myself and I really loved the books. The show was great too until the eighth season arrived when the end literally made everyone watching it flip. The ending was really poor and made everyone question their decision of watching this show. This is why I’m extremely happy to be a fan of the books and not the show.

We all have a certain character which is our most favorite and as soon as he/she is killed off, we look for another favorite to look up to, but what if the book series ends entirely? In such a case, we might need another book to read to get over this one. And we need these books to be similar. Which is why, here are some great books to choose from, after reading Game of Thrones.

12 Series And Books like Game of Thrones

Books

#1. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Books Like Game Of Thrones

This book is written by J. R. R. Tolkien. There would barely be anyone who hasn’t heard of this book. It is one of the best book series to fall into after Game of Thrones as it accommodates a lot of similarities from Game of Thrones but incorporates magic even more. This is what makes this series pretty appealing to a lot of readers and according to me, it is something that should be considered being read at least once.

If you think that the ring is what the good characters of the series require then you are a bit wrong. Even I was a bit confused at first but the book actually discusses the ring that needs to be destroyed, in order to protect the future of Middle Earth. The book revolves around a series of characters who witness and fight ultimate battles and some who have to fight their own inner evil to carry out the bigger quest at hand. The development of the storyline throughout the series is commendable.

#2. Dune

This book is written by Frank Herbert. Although a lot of people argue that this book falls under the category of science fiction rather than fantasy, I believe that any Game of Thrones fan would find it exciting. The major thing that differentiates the two is the fact that Dune is set up in a futuristic time but they are still similar on the grounds that different powerful families of the time shared relations of war and politics with each other.

The conflict of these families was over the resources of the universe and absolute power. What they were exactly after was the control over a planet named Arrakis and a magical substance that can be acquired from it, known as “the spice”. This book is also being adapted into a movie and would be released pretty soon. The way it will remind you about Game of Thrones is something you really don’t want to miss. The most basic thing about this related to Game of Thrones is the different powerful families at war with each other.

#3. The Mistborn

This book is written by Brandon Sanderson. The author is the same fan from the first series listed below, who completed the work of Robert Jordan, getting help from his notes. This is why “The Mistborn” is mentioned along with it almost everywhere. But what should be remembered is the fact that this book is exciting on its own and is a part of a series itself. And not just a part of it, this is the very first book of the Mistborn series.

The book has a very unique concept along with the rest of the books of this series. As you see, by the end of each book, the hero wins. But this isn’t the case with this one. What if the hero loses in fulfilling their prophecy? The book starts a journey around an enslaved, lower-class thief who goes by the name Kelsier. He discovers that he has great magical powers after suffering in prison for years. He is something known as the Mistborn. He wishes to end the reign of the tyranny of the current ruler. I would recommend reading all the books to find out whether he completes his quest or ends up failing again.

#4. The Kingkiller Chronicles: The Name of the Wind

This book is written by Patrick Rothfuss. It is the first book of its series and is quite well written. The author has gained quite a speedy recognition and I think it is completely justified, given the content of his books. The series only consists of two books if we look at the current progress. The best thing is the fact that it is being adapted into a movie, a TV series and also a video game due to its recent increase in the following.

It is a book like Game of Thrones in multiple ways as it is set in a medieval frame with magic and it even revolves around different class struggles that are just too latching. The way it accommodates a story inside a story format is pretty brilliant. Moreover what I admire the most about this book and the rest of its series is the fact that it can discuss the story of all the characters in a parallel way and doesn’t lose track of what it is supposed to do.

#5. Black Leopard, Red Wolf

This book is written by Marlon James. The book is often called the African version of Game of Thrones. So this is one of the reasons that this one just had to be on the list. It honors the history and mythology of Africa and is quite brilliant as an individual story. Although this book is a part of a series, I’d still suggest reading this more than any other book of its series.

It revolves around a tracker who is looking for a missing boy through a number of landscapes, going around different types of creatures and meeting different sorts of humans. Giants, shapeshifters and somewhat zombies are included in this book which obviously makes it a lot like Game of Thrones. Moreover, just by being compared to George R. R. Martin’s masterpiece is a big deal so try reading it once.

#6. Eragon

This book is written by Christopher Paolini. And it is one of those great books that have been adapted into a movie. The way it is addressed is really great and the storyline would definitely fascinate any reader who actually likes the genre. Moreover, it is similar to Game of Thrones in a quite obvious way and has been appreciated by a lot of its critics.

It has dragons and it revolves around a boy who is a farmer and he has a fate that would lead him to be a dragon rider. His name is Eragon which is what the book is all about. This is pretty obvious to go hand in hand with Game of Thrones, given the presence of dragons in the storyline along with the fact that they can be ridden. Try to read this book because it will excite you highly.

#7. Norse Mythology

This book is written by Neil Gaiman. And as the title says, the book is loosely inspired by Norse mythology. As we all know, Norse gods have often been used as superheroes in certain franchises of books as well as movies. This is book is a medium through which Neil Gaiman puts forward his imagination from the origin of Norse mythology to its disruption during Ragnarok.

The way he describes and brings forward the characters of Odin Borson, Thor Odinson and Loki Odinson, the well-known Norse gods, is impeccable. The way everything is put forward is what we must check out and appreciate. Gaiman paints the portraits of these powerful Norse gods in a storyline of absolute wits and brilliance. The way he tries to put forward the wisdom of Odin, along with the strength of his son Thor and the intelligence of his adopted son Loki is simply commendable to witness.

#8. Throne of Glass

This book is written by Sarah J. Maas. And I think that the concept of this book is extremely thrilling. As most of the readers might already know, the identity of the author is no secret. She is considered one of the best authors of our generation and I think the statement stands quite powerfully for itself. Her work is obviously appreciable and the stories she puts forward through her books are remarkable.

This book particularly seems very much similar to Game of Thrones even as we read its titles but there is a very exciting difference. This one too revolves around a throne but instead of a king or a queen, it covers the story of an assassin who is 18 years old and she is offered to become the champion of her kingdom as a trade for her freedom when she is released from her prison sentence. The way the book moves forward is something that you must witness on your own for utmost fascination.

Book Series

#9. Wheel of Time

This book series is written by Robert Jordan. It is basically a series that would definitely be loved by any reader who is interested in such books. The length of the content is quite long and spread over 14 books accommodated as a single series. But I assure you, the length won’t seem boring once you get into it. Rather, it might annoy you when you reach the end and you would wish for more.

I’m not overselling the series, it is actually that good. It is set in a world where men can’t and shouldn’t do magic while women are pretty great at it. The world is going through a bit of a crisis and a single person can defend it as well as destroy it. The series carries on a story of neck to neck war between good and evil and whatever prevails might be something that the world depends upon. Unfortunately, the author died much before completing the series but the last three books were completed by a fan who used Jordan’s notes to complete the series. The books included in this series are mentioned below:

  1. The Eye of the World
  2. The Great Hunt
  3. Dragon Reborn
  4. Shadow Rising
  5. The Fires of Heaven
  6. Lord of Chaos
  7. A Crown of Swords
  8. The Path of Daggers
  9. Winter’s Heart
  10. Crossroads of Twilight
  11. Knife of Dreams
  12. The Gathering Storm
  13. Towers of Midnight
  14. A Memory of Light

#10. The Memory, Sorrow and Thorn

This book series is written by Tad Williams. And I’m sure that every book of this series will bind you with an unbreakable spell and you won’t regret being trapped by it. The way the author presents his views is what every reader would appreciate. The way he paints the picture of its characters and tries to immortalize the storyline is something I think is underappreciated at the current time. It revolves around the story of a peaceful continent named Osten Ard where a lot of creatures live along with humans.

All the living beings on this continent live with perfect harmony amongst one another. They are ruled by King John the Presbyter who is quite appreciated by all of his subjects but things begin to go wrong as soon as he falls ill. The book revolves around a boy named Simon, who works in the king’s kitchen and is appointed by the League of the Scrolls as an apprentice, due to which he becomes a direct warrior to confront the enemies of his continent. The books included in this series are mentioned below:

  1. The Dragonbone Chair
  2. Stone of Farewell
  3. To Green Angel Tower

#11. The Earthsea Cycle

This book series is written by Ursula K. Le Guin. It is unlike any other series on the list and one of my absolute favorites. It doesn’t follow the typical world-building pattern and rather works on a real and intricate structure. I guess this is why it is appreciated by most of its readers including me. It is one of those classic tales where a concept is used for a person who comes of age and certain things start to happen.

Well, this one revolves around Ged, who was a young dragonlord sent away to study magic as he could channel great powers. This series concentrates on the perfect balance of magic and other aspects of life set together. The schism of magic and power is balanced perfectly in the world presented in this series which is quite different and fascinating according to me. It shows the triumph of good over darkness in a way that inspires the reader the most as the characters in the series grow and develop. The books included in the series are mentioned below:

  1. A Wizard of Earthsea
  2. The Tombs of Atuan
  3. The Farthest Shore
  4. Tehanu
  5. The Other Wind

#12. The Broken Empire

This book series is written by Mark Lawrence. This series is a bit less like Game of Thrones when it comes to dragons and magic but it still acquires some of the similar traits. It revolves around the life of an antihero and not just any antihero, but one who might challenge the preconceptions of being an antihero. This series would be pretty thrilling to any reader even if they prefer certain other genres.

The name of our protagonist antihero is Jorg Ancrath, through whose point of view this story is narrated. It starts from where Jorg was a privileged prince but had to go through a journey where he has to become the leader to a gang of outlaws. Apart from that, the storyline goes out to show his efforts in trying to gain back the appropriate control of his broken empire and build it. The intriguing story is one of the major plus points to this book series as it proceeds. The books included in this series are mentioned below:

  1. Prince of Thorns
  2. King of Thorns
  3. Emperor of Thorns

If you want to know about more fantasy books you can also read our article about books like Harry Potter.

I hope I was helpful in providing you with a list of books that are like Game of Thrones. I myself have read many of these books which is why I can testify for the quality of the content of these books. If the content was helpful, please drop a comment below or leave a like on our post.